Bowlers run riot as Australia and Netherlands win

The Netherlands beat Sri Lanka in an ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2024 warm-up for their Group D encounter as Aryan Dutt took four wickets.

An Australia side missing key players was still strong enough to defeat Namibia with Josh Hazlewood and Adam Zampa starring.

The day’s other game between co-hosts USA and Bangladesh was abandoned without a ball bowled due to adverse weather conditions in Dallas.

Netherlands down Sri Lanka

The Netherlands got the better of Sri Lanka in Florida, beating their Group D opponents by 20 runs.

Michael Levitt and Max O’Dowd built a good foundation for the Netherlands with the former hitting three sixes for a score of 39 before retiring out.

Teja Nidamanuru powered his way to 48 off just 24 balls before being dismissed by Kamindu Mendis on the brink of a half-century.

Captain Scott Edwards helped push the Netherlands to 181 which Sri Lanka faltered in chasing early on.

Openers Pathum Nissanka and Kusal Mendis as well as Kamindu Mendis were all dismissed for five runs or fewer.

Dhananjaya de Silva rallied the chase with 36, scoring off all but one of the balls he faced.

Wanindu Hasaranga then brought the fireworks hitting five sixes in a row before Max O’Dowd had the final say dismissing the Sri Lanka skipper with the last ball of his second over.

Aryan Dutt picked up the final two batters to end with four wickets to leave Dasun Shanaka stranded on 35 not out and Sri Lanka 20 short of their total.

The two will meet again in their final group game of the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2024 in St Lucia on 17 June.

Zampa restricts Namibia in Australia win

A three-fer for Adam Zampa followed by an unbeaten David Warner half-century saw Australia to a seven-wicket win over Namibia

It took until Josh Hazlewood’s 20th delivery for him to concede a run as he bowled two wicket maidens and a maiden over.

The pacer dismissed both of Namibia’s openers to leave them at 19 for two before Zampa decimated the middle order.

Zampa picked up three wickets, getting the important dismissal of Namibia captain Gerhard Erasmus for 15.

Wicketkeeper Zane Green played a crucial innings for his side as they looked to post a respectable total, hitting 38 from 30 balls to push Namibia to 119 for 9.

Warner carried his bat as Australia chased down their target with 10 overs to spare.

Captain Mitchell Marsh defied injury to hit 18 at the top of the order before Warner and Tim David combined for a 46-run partnership.

David was dismissed for 23 from 16 while Warner finished off the match with a four to end on 54 from 21 balls with six fours and three sixes.

Scores in brief

Netherlands v Sri Lanka – Central Broward Park & Broward County Stadium, Lauderhill, Florida, USA

Netherlands 181/5 in 20.0 overs (Teja Nidamanuru 48, Michael Levitt 39)

Sri Lanka 161 all out in 18.5 overs (Wanindu Hasaranga 39, Dhananjaya de Silva 36)

Result: Netherlands won by 20 runs

Namibia v Australia – Queen’s Park Oval, Port of Spain, Trinidad

Namibia 119/9 in 20.0 overs (Zane Green 38, Malan Kruger 18; Adam Zampa 3/25, Josh Hazlewood 2/5)

Australia 123/3 in 10.0 overs (David Warner 54 not out, Tim David 23; Bernard Scholtz 2/16)

Result: Australia won by seven wickets

USA v Bangladesh – Grand Prairie Stadium, Dallas, USA

Result: Match abandoned without a ball bowled

Source link

Spread the love

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *